How to Close or Delete Your LinkedIn Account

How to Close or Delete Your LinkedIn Account image

So, you've had it with LinkedIn. Maybe think that the site just isn't for you, you’ve found your forever and ever dream job, or perhaps you're being flooded with too many connection requests or spam messages. Whatever the reason, there is a way to delete your LinkedIn account and luckily it's a straightforward process. Just follow these simple steps, and you'll be on your way to saying goodbye to LinkedIn for good!

How to Delete Your LinkedIn Account Permanently

Deleting your LinkedIn account is pretty easy. In essence, there are two approaches to shutting down your LinkedIn account, you can either do it through your profile or by going directly to LinkedIn's Close Account page. So, let's go over the first option, shall we?

  1. Visit LinkedIn's website and log in to your account.
  2. Click on the "Me" icon at the top of your homepage.
  3. Click on "Settings & Privacy" from the drop-down menu that appears.
  4. Go to "Account management" and then open "Account preferences".
  5. Select "Change" located next to the "Close account" option.
  6. When you reach the closing page, LinkedIn will ask you to confirm that you want to shut down your account and will ask you to state the reason for doing so. You may also enter a message in the feedback slot below to offer comments or suggestions about LinkedIn. Then click Next.
  7. For the final step, you'll need to re-enter your password and click "Close account".

The other option is even simpler. You just need to go to LinkedIn's Close Account page and enter your password when prompted. You'll be asked to state the reason for deleting your LinkedIn account and may also leave feedback, but that's it! Your LinkedIn account will be gone for good.

And that's about it, once you close your LinkedIn account, it will be immediately disabled. The LinkedIn server will automatically remove all information within seven days. After that, your profile and all associated data will be permanently deleted from LinkedIn.

What Happens When You Close Your LinkedIn Account?

Note that by deleting your LinkedIn account, you are triggering a process that cannot be undone. Here are some other things that will happen once you close your account:

  • Access to all your connections and information you've shared in your profile will be disabled;
  • Your LinkedIn profile will be removed from the platform;
  • Your information might appear in some search engines but this is temporary or at least until caches are refreshed;
  • All of your recommendations and endorsements will be lost so we advise you to download or copy your data before you delete your LinkedIn profile permanently;
  • You must first cancel or delete any group, LinkedIn premium membership, or premium account license before closing your Basic account;
  • And finally, if you own more than one LinkedIn account, you should delete both or merge them before shutting them down permanently.

Last but not least, LinkedIn is really considerate and provides you with an option to reopen your account within 14 days. However, know that once you've deleted your LinkedIn account, even if you change your mind after only a day, some of your valuable data like endorsements and recommendations, or group memberships will not be available. That’s why it’s advisable to download all your account data.

How to Backup Data Before You Delete Your LinkedIn Profile Permanently

As we briefly mentioned, you will lose all your endorsements and recommendations once you delete your LinkedIn profile. So, if there's any data that you want to keep, make sure to download or backup a copy before going ahead with the deletion process. Below are the steps on how to do this:

  1. Log in to your LinkedIn account and click on the "Me" icon at the top of your homepage.
  2. Click on "Settings & Privacy" from the drop-down menu that appears.
  3. Go to "Data privacy".
  4. Click "Get a copy of your data" under the "How LinkedIn Uses Your Data" section.
  5. Select which data you wish to be copied and click "Request archive”.
  6. LinkedIn will now generate a file that contains all your data.

Depending on the category and amount of data you wish to download, the process might take a few minutes or 24 hours. If you choose the larger download, you will receive an email within a day. You can then use the link provided in the email to obtain the information you asked for. Note that the data will be available for download for 72 hours.

Reasons to Close Your LinkedIn Account

LinkedIn truly is a great platform for networking, recruiters, and job seekers but sometimes, as with all good things, it's time to move on. Especially if you're not using the site or feel like it's no longer serving its purpose. There could be a multitude of reasons why you want to delete your LinkedIn account. Maybe you are:

  • No longer committed to maintaining your LinkedIn account;
  • Looking for a new job and don't want your current employer to know;
  • Concerned about privacy issues. After all, LinkedIn has an unlimited license to use your information. And according to statistics, 47% of all social media phishing attempts were through LinkedIn messages;
  • Not fully prepared to handle the competition;
  • No longer interested in networking and wish to start promoting your product in person. After all, people like to buy from people;
  • Tired of getting too many emails, notifications, and spam messages. Given that 62% of B2B marketers generate leads via LinkedIn while 87% of recruiters use it on a regular basis, you’ve surely received more than one message you’re not really interested in.

Conclusion

We hope this article has helped you make a decision on whether to delete your LinkedIn account or not. If you have decided to close your profile permanently, then follow the instructions we provided above on how to backup your data and disable your account. Remember that once you've deleted your LinkedIn account, there's no going back, so think carefully before taking this step.

Be the first to comment!